Connect with us

News

M23 to close EVERY weekend throughout March

Published

on

M23 motorway

The M23 is to have a series of 56-hour closures throughout March meaning it will be closed for an entire weekend.

The closures will be between Junction 8 Merstham and Junction 10 Copthorne.

Starting on Friday 28th Feb the closures will begin at 9pm every Friday before reopening at 5am on the following Monday.

Each weekend the closure will affect either the northbound traffic OR the southbound but never both at the same time.

  • Friday 28 February until Monday 2 March: Northbound junctions 10-8
  • Friday 6 March until Monday 9 March: Southbound junctions 8-10
  • Friday 13 March until Monday 16 March: Northbound junctions 10-8
  • Friday 20 March until Monday 23 March: Southbound junctions 8-10

The last weekend in March is a split weekend with a northbound closure from Friday night to Saturday night and a southbound closure the rest of the weekend:

  • 9pm Friday 27 March to 1am Sunday 29 March: Northbound junctions 10-8 (28 hours)
  • 1am Sunday 29 March to 5am Monday 30 March: Southbound junctions 8-10 (28 hours)

Highways England say a fully signed diversion route will be in place to aid motorists with their journeys.

M23 diversion routes

There are two routes that are being advised for motorists to use to avoid the closures. These are the A22 from Jnc 6 on the M25 which will bring traffic down to Felbridge and then across through Copthorne.

And the A2011 from Jnc 10 M23 which then will lead down to a diversion around Gatwick and then meeting up with the A23 and heading up to Redhill and finally Jnc 7 at the M25.

News

Crawley Down man pleads ‘not guilty’ to double murder as date set for trial

Published

on

Daniel Gary Appleton, 37, an engineer, of Hazel Way, Crawley Down, is to face trial over the deaths of both his wife Amy Appleton, 32, and another woman, Sandy Seagrave, 76, of Kiln Road, Crawley Down, outside his property on Sunday, 22 December, 2019.

Appleton appeared by video-link at a plea and trial preparation hearing (PTPH) at Lewes Crown Court on Tuesday (25 February) where he entered not guilty pleas to both murders.

His defence barrister, speaking on Appleton’s behalf, admitted his responsibility for both killings.

The trial is set for 6 July.

At the opening of inquests into the two women’s deaths at Centenary House, Crawley, on Tuesday 7 January West Sussex coroner Penelope Schofield heard that post-mortem examinations had shown both women had died from head injuries.

Those hearings were adjourned until Tuesday 28 April.

Continue Reading

Trending