Connect with us


Local schoolboy wins Scientist of the Year



A local schoolboy has won the Key Stage 2 Scientist of the Year at a science fair organised at the University of Surrey this week.

Run by the multi-academy GLF Trustm students from a range of local primary and secondary schools competed in years groups head to head to be named Scientist of the Year.

Max Barr of Salfords Primary School was named winner for his Key Stage with a project on how to make gases at home.

Winner of the other Key Stages were:

Sophia Briscoe, of Merstham Primary School, for Key Stage 1 Primary Scientist of the Year for her work on the subject of whether boys are completely hygienic.

The Key Stage 3 winners were Faith Walker, Poppy Wigley and Elsie Wright from The Beacon Secondary School on the taste of coffee.

Hillcroft School pupils at the Science Fair

The event was held at the prestigious venue on Wednesday when the university’s Professor Jim Al Khalili was one of the key note speakers along with Jo Fox, US Space Ambassador and head of Spacefund.

Each school, all members of the multi-academy GLF Trust, held its own science fair prior to this week’s final to choose a winning project and runner-up for the university date. Pupils had worked on their own projects at home in order to take part in the event.

“The standard of children’s science projects this year were exceptionally high. It was amazing to see so many excited and engaged children enjoying science and sharing their love of this awesome subject with others,” said Tom Holloway, GLF Primary Science Leader.

Subjects chosen by the students ranged from how to make gases at home to the chemical composition of coffee and a number of businesses and organisations gave up their time to help with the event.

“It would not have been possible without the support of so many, including Pfizer, Atkins, SES Water, Pirbright Institute and Electronic Arts,” added Mr Holloway.

The KS1 winner was Sophia Briscoe, of Merstham Primary School; KS 2 was Max Barr, of Salfords Primary School with a project on how to make gases at home. The KS3 winners were Faith Walker, Poppy Wigley and Elsie Wright from The Beacon Secondary School on the taste of coffee.

The complete list of schools taking part:
Chestnut Park Primary School
Cuddington Croft Primary School
Danetree Primary School
Hammond Junior School
Lime Tree Primary School
Lorraine and Pine Ridge schools
Marden Lodge Primary School
Salfords Primary School
Warlingham Village Primary School
Windmill and Wheatfied Primary School
Whyteleafe Primary School
Hillcroft Primary School
Merstham Primary School
Cordwalles Junior School
Southgate Primary School
Lightwater Primary School
The Beacon secondary school
de Stafford School

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Meet the new head of Thomas Bennett Community College

After a turbulent year the school welcomes their new head teacher.



Mr Smith is extremely proud to have been appointed as the new permanent Head Teacher of Thomas Bennett Community College in Crawley. 

In particular, Mr Smith is excited to be working with both students and parents in the coming months and serving the community to provide an excellent education.

A highly experienced and inspiration leader, Mr Smith joins Thomas Bennett from Hastings, where he was the Principal for two secondary schools.

Mr Smith says

“my key philosophy has always been to do what’s best for the students, raising their aspirations and giving them the tools to be successful”.

Sharing the governing body’s visionary outlook, strong values and sense of community Mr Smith will further strengthen the schools excellence within a nurturing and student focused environment.

Continue Reading